What’s so hard about starting a blog?

That was my thought 9 days ago when I first started designing this blog. Then I got busy. And worried. What would I write about? Who would want to read what I’d have to say? Would I be able to figure out a way to write more than just two posts? Could I start this during state testing and not just write about how much I dislike state testing?

So. Here’s what I’ve learned is hard about starting a blog.

  1. Getting over yourself. I’ve decided that this will be about my journey toward more innovation in my classroom and school. If you like it, great. If you don’t, you don’t have to read it. I’ll just keep plugging away, trying to improve my small corner of the world.
  2. Finding the time. I know I need to set aside time each week (more than one day a week?) to write. As a part of the Innovative Teaching Academy, I know I’ll have support and people who will be more than happy to help me along. I’ve always been a procrastinator, though, and I’ll have to get around that. See number 1.
  3. Deciding what to write about. As this is my first post, I’m just getting by on how to begin. A decent topic, but now what? I am really starting to feel strongly about what people think innovation is (apps and technology), and what I think innovation is (making strides toward improving and changing things for the better). I think that’s where the title of the blog came from. At times I feel like I’m moving against the stream of what I’ve always done, hoping that I’ll get far enough for the new ideas to become as comfortable as the old.

Now that I’ve begun, let’s see if I can keep it going. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

